Ian Hunter cover versions:

Quick links: The Crybabys


(Angel Air SJCPCD 120)

This album by The Crybabys was recorded in Holland in 1996, but it wasn't released until 2002. Honest John Plain, Darrell Bath and Vom Ritchie had all recorded "Ian Hunter's Dirty Laundry" in 1994, and they were joined by Nick Peckham and Bartie Slob for this album.

"Daily Misery" comes with a cool 'probably the best rock'n'roll band in the world' slogan on the cover, and it includes the song "Rock 'N' Roll Heart" which Ian co-wrote with Darrell during the sessions for "Ian Hunter's Dirty Laundry".

Hunter's own version remains unreleased, but three of the songs Darrell wrote with Ian Hunter and Honest John Plain ended up on the "Dirty Laundry" album: "Dancing On The Moon", "Another Fine Mess" and "Scars". In addition Darrell wrote (and sang) "Never Trust a Blonde" and "Everyone's a Fool".

With Darrell Bath, Ian found a partner he was comfortable working with after Mick Ronson died. They met at the sessions for "Ian Hunter's Dirty Laundry" in 1994 and worked together, on and off, for the next six years. When Ian was not touring, Darrell was busy plugging his own career with regular gigs in London and he released a solo album called "Same Old Brand New" in May 2000. This also marked the end of his working relationship with Ian. More info

[ back to IAN HUNTER cover version index ]