IAN HUNTER compilation albums

This page details 'Greatest Hits' plus archive type compilations. Ian Hunter's original studio and live albums will be listed on the Ian Hunter albums page. The newest releases are listed first.

The miscellaneous section list 'various artist' type compilations with rare Ian Hunter material which is not available on the regular releases.

Quick links: Sampling In Reality (2016) | From the Knees of My Heart (2012) | The Journey (2006)


Highslide JS Tracklisting: A Little Rock 'n' Roll (Pre-Rant outtake) / Your Eyes (from Shrunken Heads EP) / Waterlow (Trio Studio Version) / Sons 'n' Lovers (Live Acoustic 2008) / When I'm President (Live Acoustic 2013) / American Music (Early Version) / Sweet Jane (Ian Hunter and Tribes)

- UK CD: Proper Music PRPEP003

Tracks 1 to 5 are taken from the forthcoming, Limited Edition Ian Hunter box set, "Stranded in Reality". The last two tracks, "American Music" and "Sweet Jane" are unique to this sampler. All versions previously unreleased except "Your Eyes".

From the Knees of My Heart - The Chrysalis Years 1979-1981 (2012)

Highslide JS This 4CD box contains 62 tracks including Ian Hunter's renowned Chrysalis albums "You're Never Alone With A Schizophrenic", "Short Back 'n' Sides" and "Welcome To The Club" plus an unissued CD - "Ian Hunter Rocks" - and various rare songs, studio outtakes and previously unreleased cuts.

- UK 4CD: EMI Chrysalis 5099923270121

Disc 1 - You're Never Alone With a Schizophrenic:
Just Another Night / Wild East / Cleveland Rocks / Ships / When The Daylight Comes / Life After Death / Standin' In My Light / Bastard / The Outsider / BONUS TRACKS: Don't Let Go (Demo Version) / The Other Side Of Life (Outtake) / Ships (Early Version) / When The Daylight Comes (Early Version) / Just Another Night (Version #3) / The Outsider (Early Version) / Alibi

The bonus tracks match the 30th Anniversary edition of "You're Never Alone With a Schizophrenic", with a few exceptions:
- songs in RED were originally only available with the download version of YNAWAS.
- songs in GREEN are previously unreleased.
- two bonus tracks from the 30th Anniversary Edition are missing: "Just Another Night" (Early Version) and "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On". The second live disc is also missing.

Disc 2 - Welcome To The Club:
FBI / Once Bitten Twice Shy / Angeline / Laugh At Me / All The Way From Memphis / I Wish I Was Your Mother / Irene Wilde / Just Another Night / Cleveland Rocks / Standin' In My Light / Bastard / Walkin' With a Mountain/Rock And Roll Queen / All The Young Dudes / Slaughter On 10th Avenue / One Of The Boys / The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll

The track listing match the 1994 "Welcome To The Club" 2CD set with a few exceptions:
- "Sons And Daughters", "We Gotta Get Out Of Here", "Silver Needles" and "Man O' War" are found on Disc 4 on this set (Ian Hunter Rocks)
- three tracks from the 1994 2CD edition are are missing: "When The Daylight Comes", "Medley: Once Bitten Twice Shy/Bastard/Cleveland Rocks", plus the original mix of "We Gotta Get Out Of Here".

Disc 3 - Short Back n' Sides:
Central Park 'n' West / Lisa Likes Rock 'n' Roll / I Need Your Love / Old Records Never Die / Noises / Rain / Gun Control / Theatre Of The Absurd / Leave Me Alone / Keep On Burning / BONUS TRACKS: Na Na Na / I Believe In You / Listen To The Eight Track / You Stepped Into My Dreams / Venus In The Bathtub / Detroit (Take 1) / China (Rough Mix with Ronson vocal)

The bonus tracks match the second disc of the 1994 "Short Back n' Sides" 2CD set (aka "Long Odd & Out-takes") with a few exceptions:
- "China" (Rough Mix with Ronson vocal) is previously unreleased.
- five bonus tracks from "Long Odd & Out-takes" are missing: "Detroit" (instrumental), "I Need Your Love" (rough mix)", "Rain (alternate)", "China" (Ronson vocal), "Old Records Never Die" (version 1)

Disc 4 - Ian Hunter Rocks: Once Bitten Twice Shy / Gun Control / Central Park 'n' West / All The Way From Memphis/Honky Tonk Women / I Need Your Love / Noises / Just Another Night / Cleveland Rocks / Irene Wilde / Medley: All The Young Dudes-Honaloochie Boogie-Roll Away The Stone-Ships / Sons And Daughters / We Gotta Get Out Of Here (Alternate version) / Silver Needles / Man O' War

The "Ian Hunter Rocks" CD is a live concert from the Dr. Pepper Music Festival at Pier 81 in New York City on 11 Sep 1981, previously only available on VHS. The last four songs on the CD are the studio cuts from the "Welcome To The Club live album. The alternate version of "We Gotta Get Out Of Here" is a remix that starts with a drum stick count off which is missing from the original version.


Highslide JS This 3CD box-set is subtitled 'a retrospective of Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter' and covers the period 1969 - 2001. It has 53 tracks, a mix of hits, album tracks and rarities - including three unreleased Ian Hunter songs. This is the ultimate introduction to Ian and Mott available today!

- UK 3CD: Sony/BMG 82876 890022

Track listing CD1: MOTT THE HOOPLE: Road To Birmingham / Backsliding Fearlessly / Walking With a Mountain / Angel of Eighth Avenue / Waterlow / The Debt / One of the Boys / The Journey / The Moon Upstairs / All The Young Dudes / Momma's Little Jewel / Jerkin' Crocus / Sea Diver / Honaloochie Boogie / The Ballad of Mott The Hoople / Hymn For The Dudes / Whizz Kid / I Wish I Was Your Mother

Track listing CD2: MOTT THE HOOPLE: All The Way From Memphis / Violence / Roll Away The Stone / The Golden Age of Rock n Roll / Marionette / Crash Street Kidds / Foxy Foxy / Saturday Gigs / IAN HUNTER: Once Bitten Twice Shy / Who Do You Love? / Lounge Lizzard / 3000 Miles From Here / The Truth, The Whole Truth, Nuthin' But The Truth / It Ain't Easy When You Fall/Shades Off / Letter To Britannia From The Union Jack / Irene Wilde / You Nearly Did Me In / Justice Of The Peace

Track listing CD3: IAN HUNTER: Cleveland Rocks / Standin' In My Light / Bastard / The Outsider / Gun Control / All Of The Good Ones Are Taken / Speechless / Ill Wind / The Loner / 23a Swan Hill / Michael Picasso / I'm In Awe / Avalanche / Morons (alternate version) / Wash Us Away / Knees of My Heart / Dead Man Walking

- songs in GREEN are previously unreleased.

[ Back to top ]